DNF Review: Mirror Mirror by Cara Delevingine and Rowan Coleman

Title: Mirror Mirror
Author: Cara Delevingine and Rowan Coleman
Publication Date: October 3rd 2017
Publisher: Trapeze Publishing
Part of a Series?: No, A Standalone
I Got A Copy Through: Hachette India
Buy Links: Amazon IN || Barnes and Noble || Wordery || Kobo || Books A Million || Chapters Indigo || Google Books
Blurb Description: Friend. Lover. Victim. Traitor.When you look in the mirror, what do you see?
Sixteen-year-old friends Red, Leo, Rose, and Naomi are misfits; still figuring out who they are and who they want to be. Life isn't perfect, but music brings them together, and they are excited about what the future holds for their band, Mirror, Mirror. That is until Naomi vanishes before being pulled unconscious out of the river.
She's left fighting for her life in a coma. The police claim it was a failed suicide attempt, but her friends aren't convinced. Will Naomi ever wake up? What - or perhaps who - led her to that hospital bed? And how did Red, the self-styled protector of the group, fail to spot the warning signs?
While Rose turns to wild partying and Leo is shrouded by black moods, Red sets out to uncover the truth. It's a journey that will cause Red's world to crack, exposing the group's darkest secrets. Nothing will ever be the same again, because once a mirror is shattered, it can't be fixed.
Cara Delevingne, the voice of her generation, explores identity, friendship and betrayal in this gripping and powerful coming-of-age story. For fans of WE WERE LIARS, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and THE GIRLS.
DNF at page 91.

In all honesty, this was one of the most MADDENING books I’ve read this year. It tried to portray “real” teenage life and instead gave us page after page filled with swearing, drugs, alcohol and, WORST OF ALL, JOKES ABOUT SHOOTING UP SCHOOLS.

“ ‘When he inevitable instigates a school shooting, we’ll be the first to go,’
And that’s when I knew I liked her.”

NO. JUST NO.

With everything that’s happening in the United States now, and even before this last week, HOW ARE BOOKS ALLOWED TO MAKE SCHOOL SHOOTING JOKES? And, more importantly, WHY WAS THIS WRITTEN IN IN THE FIRST PLACE? People are losing their lives at the hands of their classmates. The place that’s supposed to help them grow is what’s stealing their live away and it’s an absolutely heart-wrenching situation.

I have a four year old sister who started school a few months ago, and despite the fact that we live in India, the fact that CHILDREN and getting shot in a place of learning that is supposed to be unquestionably safe, scares the hell out of me. The massacres that happen in schools, they SCARE ME. And for a book to make a joke out of it? I WAS SO DONE WITH IT.

Even if you want to brush if off as ‘just one dialogue,’ (WHICH YOU SHOULDN’T) Mirror, Mirror had some subpar writing. It was either trying too hard or trying too little, but the general way in which these ABSOLUTELY TORTURED characters were portrayed was over the top, unrealistic and I honestly cared for none of them.

I do not like putting books down before I’ve finished them. It leaves me with this intense feeling of incompleteness and stops me from moving onto my next book, but with Mirror, Mirror the decision came easily.

It’s not right to turn the pain and suffering of thousands of children and their loved ones into a DEPRECIATING BONDING joke between two characters. It was distasteful, horrible and single-handedly caused a mental block in my mind from reading any more.


I will now put this book away without a second thought and I don’t recommend it reading it. At all. 
Rowan ColemanRowan Coleman lives with her husband, and five children in a very full house in Hertfordshire. She juggles writing novels with raising her family which includes a very lively set of toddler twins whose main hobby is going in the opposite directions. When she gets the chance, Rowan enjoys sleeping, sitting and loves watching films; she is also attempting to learn how to bake.

Rowan would like to live every day as if she were starring in a musical, although her daughter no longer allows her to sing in public. Despite being dyslexic, Rowan loves writing, and The Memory Book is her eleventh novel. Others include The Accidental Mother, Lessons in Laughing Out Loud and the award-winning Dearest Rose, a novel which lead Rowan to become an active supporter of domestic abuse charity Refuge, donating 100% of royalties from the ebook publication of her novella, Woman Walks Into a Bar, to the charity. Rowan does not have time for ironing.
 
Cara Delevingne by Gage Skidmore.jpg
Cara Jocelyn Delevingne is an English model and actress. She signed with Storm Model Management after leaving school in 2009. Delevingne won the "Model of the Year" award at the British Fashion Awards in 2012 and 2014 and has appeared in shows for houses including BurberryChanelMulberryDolce & Gabbana, and Jason Wu. She started her acting career with a minor role in the 2012 film adaptation of Anna Karenina. Her first major roles were as Margo Roth Spiegelman in the romantic mystery film Paper Towns (2015), Kath Talent in London Fields, and the Enchantress in the comic book film Suicide Squad (2016). In 2017 she starred in Luc Besson's Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets as one of the main characters.

Have you read this book? What do you think of it?
 

No comments:

Post a Comment